

## Alaska Association of Student Governments Resolution #1 Submitted by: Glennallen High School

Submitted: April 25, 2018

## Be it Resolved by the Alaska Association of Student Governments that:

- 1. Whereas, our district's cold weather cancellation policy is that, "schools within the Copper River School District will be closed when the outside temperature reaches -50 degrees fahrenheit or lower in Glennallen (as report by KCAM at 6am);"
- 2. Whereas, the winter temperatures range from 0 to -50 degrees fahrenheit, and the average winter temperature is -20 degrees fahrenheit;
- 3. Whereas, many cars won't start in temperatures that cold, unless they're plugged in;
- **4.** Whereas, students do not have access to plug-ins, because the only plug-ins are located in teacher's parking lot;
- 5. Whereas, students are prohibited from parking in the teacher's parking lot;
- **6.** Whereas, many students drive to school, because the bus schedule does not align with their personal schedule;
- 7. Whereas, many young drivers in high school drive older cars that tend to have more difficulties starting in the cold;

8. Whereas, students must leave during class throughout the day to run their car for a few minutes, to ensure it starts when they leave school at the end of the day;

9. Whereas, this takes time away from learning in classes, everyday;

10. Whereas, several cars have failed to start due to the cold temperatures affecting the battery, and have been left in the parking lot for several weeks at a time until they can be fixed;

Therefore, be it resolved that the Alaska Association of Student Governments supports that the Copper River School District install vehicle plug-ins in the student parking lot, for Glennallen High School, Kenny Lake High School, and Slana High School.

**Action Statement:** This resolution, if passed by the Alaska Association of Student Governments, will proceed to the CRSD School Board for discussion and possible implementation.

Passed Unanimously by the Alaska Association of Student Governments at the Spring 2018 Conference.

Vice President, Kyle Hasse

**Executive Director, Denise Greene-Wilkinson**